Skip to content

Bookslut | An Interview with Daniel Handler

April 3, 2012
by

Here’s a fun interview with Daniel Handler who plays accordion but occasionally writes best-selling books.

It includes this amusing bit (among several):

Bookslut: And you played accordion for Stars, right? In researching this interview, I saw some variation of the phrase “The thing about being an accordionist is that you’re the best accordionist anybody knows” a bunch of times. What would an accordion fight be like?

Daniel:  Yep, that’s me on one song on the most recent Stars album. Whenever I meet a competent accordion player I do the equivalent of rolling over and showing my belly, often in the form of buying a drink. Today, however, I went on a local carousel with my son, and to my astonishment the music they played was The Magnetic Fields’s “Zebra,” featuring me double-tracked on accordion. I’m sure there aren’t too many musicians who can claim to play indie rock and on carousel soundtracks.

(Sorry about messing up this post a minute ago, don’t know where that quote went.  Fixed now I hope.)

I just wrote Handler’s publisher (his handlers?)  (He  says puns are not the lowest form of humour in this very article) to ask for an interview, “for a section of a book I’m working on about accordionist rock musician childrens’ book authors.”  Wish us luck.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. unwashedmass permalink
    April 3, 2012 12:02 pm

    More blog posts! Practice is needed to help you avoid accidentally writing infuriating cliffhangers such as the above.

Trackbacks

  1. Redwing: by Holly Bennett – New in our Young Adult Accordion Library | Accordion Uprising

Leave a Reply

