Skip to content

Basque band Gose

November 9, 2011
by

“…sometimes, it’s not just more songs that make up a bonus, it’s an extra genre or two. Take for example, Gose, a techno-accordion glam-rock band from Arrasate-Mondragon, Basque Country. Gose will play a free show at the Basque Center in Boise on Saturday, Nov. 12 at 8 p.m.

New to me, Gose looks pretty darn cool.

From their site:

[english]

gose. N. /g?se / hunger 1. the feeling caused by a need to eat 2. a strong desire for something

GOSE are an Arrasate-Mondragón (Basque Country) based trio formed by Ines Osinaga (singer and accordion), Iñaki Bengoa (percusion and programming) and Osoron (guitarrist and bassist). Gose began their silent journey in 2004, as a result of the trio’s sharing of musical ideas. The band merge accordion with electronic.

By merging accordion and Electronic, gose creates warm, raw, mild atmospheres and dance rhythms. Gose dabble in everything : world-music, bossa, glam, rock, punk, Basque dance nimbleness…

Lot of Basque music out west in Idaho.  I remember being mystified when Kepa Junkera played Boise a few years back (and didn’t play here, so I could see him).  I love the idea of a cultural group maintaining ties over such distance for so many years. (Basque Country to Idaho =  km / 5,000 miles)  Especially when Idaho seems so isolated (I lived there as a kid).  It seems a bit more remarkable than say, an immigrant community on the coast staying connected with port cities on the other side of the water.  Putting a continent and an ocean between members of a family impresses me.  Way to go Basque community!

But what do I know about any of this?  Well, I was told once how to pronounce trikitixa, that’s “accordion” in Basque. (“Tree-key’-ti-sha,” with the accent on the “key.”)  Hmm, I see that Wikipedia claims that’s only the way to say it in “dialectical Basque.”  I guess I don’t even really know that.  My minutia has become more minute.
———
GOSE also have amusing iconography for their two-guy/one-girl trio:
My nine-year-old daughter saw these and said, “Why does that one have forks and spoons on it?”
I said it was a joke, like the picture with a dress and suits, because they have one girl and two boys.  My daughter laughed, “She’s a spoon!?!” and then, “Me, I’m a chicken.”
Mysteries.  Must learn more.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2011 1:25 pm

    Hey Bruce….Check out my tune “Cumbia Cenegria” from my “Spektrum Lab” CD I sent the station a couple of years ago…..similar-type sound….
    Len

  2. November 9, 2011 1:57 pm

    You’re right Len, There’s lots of room to work squeezebox sounds in to dance music. It hasn’t nearly been tapped yet. It’s cool to hear different folk-music modernized like this.

    That one Colombian cumbia (“Cienaguera”) seems remarkably popular with electronica players. We’ve got three or four techno versions of it, but not many other equally catchy old cumbias. It would take a better ethnomusicologist than I to say if there’s any musical similarity between electro-cumbia and electro-Basque music. The core rhythms seem very different to me (riding-groove vs. cascading waterfall?) I like the different places those roots can take us when used in new ways. That’s what the accordions all about, one instrument spreading to infinite variety.

Leave a Reply

